Гаряча лінія:
0 800 501 482

Illegal coal mining in Donetsk region results in over USD 325,000 losses to the state budget

SBU blocked the illegal industrial-scale coal mining in Donetsk region. The losses to the state budget top UAH 8,000,000 (USD 325,000).

Six people from Kyiv, Pokrovsk and temporarily occupied Yenakievo, organised the illegal mining on the territory of the closed mine “Girnyk”. The clandestine coal plant was operating 24/7, producing coal in two shifts, with no compliance to safety rules. Over 30 miners worked at the company.

The dealers legalised the produced coal in two ways: either by using fake documentation of one of the region’s coal mines, or by running fictitious financial and business operations. The produced natural resources were sold to institutions and establishments of Dnipropetrovsk, Zaporizhia regions, as well as several western regions of Ukraine.

It is established that for the six months of illegal business operation the offenders managed to extract about 2,500 tons of coal.


According to the experts, illegal activity could have led to environmental disaster, increasing risk of landslides and groundwater flood. The mining was a real threat to life and health of local residents.  

During seven searches conducted at the site of illegal mining and the residences of defendants in the proceedings, the law enforcement seized mine equipment, vehicles, bank cards, stamps and seals of the companies involved in the criminal scheme, documents that prove the fraud.

In order to identify all persons involved in illegal activity, investigative actions are ongoing within the framework of initiated criminal proceeding.

The issue of serving a notice of suspicion to the offenders in committing crimes stipulated by Part 2 Article 240, Part 1 Article 272, Part 2 Article 364 of the Criminal Code is being settled.

The operation was conducted jointly with the National Police, under the procedural supervision of the Prosecutor's Office.

SBU Press Centre


For the Attention of the SBU Head





Zhydkov Dmytro Mykhailovych
Shevchenko Daniil Borysovych
Yatsenko Viktor Viacheslavovych

View full list