Гаряча лінія:
0 800 501 482


After the proclamation of Ukraine's independence on August 24, 1991, there immediately arose the question of the liquidation of the Soviet national security system and the creation of new government institutions to protect Ukraine's sovereignty and accomplish other objectives in the national security sphere.

One of the first steps on this path was the establishment of the Commission on the development of the Ukrainian National Security Agency Concept. In view of the results of its work, as well as of the work of the Commission of the Ukraine Parliament on the reorganization of national security agencies, the Parliament adopted the resolution "On the Creation of the National Security Service of Ukraine" (NSS of Ukraine, NSSU) dated September 20, 1991. The same resolution abolished the UkSSR Committee for State Security.

At the initial stage of the formation of this agency, senior personnel of the NNSU and its principal structural units were appointed. In the period from September 1991 to February 1992, manning charts for units belonging to the NNSU Central Departments, the NSS of the Crimean ASSR, regional agencies, military counterintelligence agencies and the NSSU Personnel Training Institute were prepared and approved. This was followed by the commencement of recruitment of personnel that swore allegiance to the Ukrainian people.

The activities of the NSSU personnel were targeted at tackling the most important issues of national security and providing informational and analytical support for the country's leaders.

At the same time, organizational and staffing issues were being resolved quickly, and the regulatory and legal framework for the commencement of a full-fledged operational activity was being developed. Alongside with the legal groundwork for the agency's activities, another important area of activities, personnel management and special service personnel recruitment, was taking shape. Since its earliest days, the main strand of the agency's personnel policy has been striving to fuse operational experience and youthful energy in a team of like-minded staff allied in spirit and patriotic feelings, united by the same cause – serving the Ukrainian people, protecting the interests of people, the society and the state against unlawful interferences whose detection and interruption falls within the competence of the Security Service in accordance with the law. The national security service was joined by people with sincere desire to work conscientiously and selflessly for the benefit of sovereign Ukraine.

In the period from November 1991 to February 1992, meticulous work in cooperation with the Parliament's specialized committee resulted in the creation of the Chief Directorate of Intelligence, the Chief Directorate of Counterintelligence, the "K" Division (specializing in the fight against corruption and organized crime), a number of other core and ancillary units (responsible for information analysis, investigation, technical operations, governmental communications, military medicine, mobilization, operational documentation, international ties, human resources management, public relations, inspection etc.), the NSSU Personnel Training Institute, as well as NSSU agencies in the regions of Ukraine and the National Security Service of the Crimean ASSR (at present — the Main Office of the SSU in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea), as constituent elements of the National Security Service.

December 1991 witnessed the commencement of the development of the system of military counterintelligence agencies and units of the NSSU-SSU pursuant to the Decree of the President of Ukraine. In this manner, issues related to ensuring national security in the Armed Forces, the National Guard, the Border Guard and other military units of Ukraine were resolved.

On March 25, 1992, the Parliament of Ukraine adopted the Law of Ukraine "On the Security Service of Ukraine", providing a clear-cut legal basis for the subsequent development of the Security Service.

For the Attention of the SBU Head





Zhydkov Dmytro Mykhailovych
Shevchenko Daniil Borysovych
Yatsenko Viktor Viacheslavovych

View full list